Project 2: Event Ad

P2JanaeChristiansen2-page-001 (2)

Description: A full-bleed color event ad to promote a fundraiser.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): I used an HP scanner to scan a high resolution image onto my computer.  I choose this picture because it grabbed my attention the first time I saw it and it made me smile.  I also liked the white space on the left side of the child to put words onto the picture.  I chose a font that looked like sidewalk chalk to write onto the picture. I used the large arrow and small bullet point arrows to create repetition and rhythm in the picture.  I tried to create a flow using the rocket on the child’s back to draw your eyes to the title and then down to the arrow with the date.  I used an HP scanner, Microsoft Word and PDFtoJPG.net.

Message: The fundraiser is a family event with STEM activities.  The money raised will benefit the local chapter of the Boys & Girls Club.

Audience: Children, teens and their parents.  I would hang this flier at local elemetary schools, swimming pool, libraries and recreation centers where families go together.

Color scheme and color names: I used a split complimentary color scheme.  The colors I used are red, orange and teal.

Top Thing Learned: I learned that Microsoft Word has a lot of hidden gems for designing beautiful fliers.  I would not have thought to use this program for something like this.  It’s nice to know it’s capabilities if I’m ever in a pinch.

Title Font Name & Category: Sketchy – Decorative

Copy Font Name & Category: Century Gothic – Sans Serif

Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used: Scanned image was on a mail flier from Utah Educational Savings Plan.  The original size of the photo is 5×7 inches.  HP scanner is part of my home personal printer/scanner.

 

2 thoughts on “Project 2: Event Ad

Leave a comment